NLA Chapter Awarded No. 1

CHICAGO – The Georgia State University Chapter of the Nonprofit Leadership Alliance has been recognized as the best chapter in the United States at the organization’s national conference in Chicago.

The 2014 Sprint Campus Program Excellence Award was presented to chapter members attending the conference in a presentation on January 7.

“We are very proud of our students in the Nonprofit Leadership Alliance,” says Dean Mary Beth Walker of the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies, which houses Georgia State’s chapter.

“This award not only recognizes the ongoing excellence of one of the university’s top programs in student engagement, it’s also an endorsement of the larger nonprofit community in Atlanta and its support of our students through internships and other mentoring activities. From every angle, it’s a win-win.”

The award recognizes the Nonprofit Leadership Alliance campus chapter that exemplifies best practices in nonprofit career preparation and growth: completions in the Certified Nonprofit Professional program, member and event participation, the blend of nonprofit coursework and internships, frequent interaction among members and community leaders, and strong relationships between the campus program and its local nonprofit community.

Students participating in the Georgia State chapter represent every academic level and all types of degrees says NLA chapter advisor Maggie Tolan, director of career services and student life for the Andrew Young School. She has watched the club grow from two students as many as 130 since its inception in 2008.

“The award recognizes that our campus has strong career leadership. We are in a big city with awesome internships, and our students do more than the minimum number. They often work in up to four internships, when only one is required for certification.

The NLA chapter winning the 2014 award has about 85 members, says Tolan. Those attending the Chicago conference were helped, in part, by a generous matching grant offered by Andrew Young School advisory board members Sam and Angie Allen.

“The Allens have helped sponsor 100 students at the last two NLA conferences,” says Tolan. “We would have not been able to send these students and meet the NLA requirement for the award had it not been for their challenge. We are all grateful to the Allens for giving our students this opportunity. Their support has meant a major return on investment for the Atlanta community.”


An NLA member-produced video submitted for the award tells more of the story. To see it, go to students appearing in the Georgia State University 2014 Sprint Program Excellence Nominee video are, by order: Kate Van Camp (M.P.A. 2013), Hannah Chung (Public Policy), Becks Nix (Public Policy), Mutesa Kabaka (B.S. in Public Policy 2013) and Frederic Sisouvanh (M.P.A.).