RESEARCH PORTAL

Research Infrastructure Support

Our school is defined by our evidence-based, data-driven approach to policy research across a unique grouping of disciplines, that inform collaborations across the university to address complex public policy and management problems and issues. Our research centers foster collaboration among world-class scholars whose complementary work generates new thinking and revealing insights into global policy issues.

In the following tables and the accompanying pages, you will find resources and step-by-step instructions intended to help you apply for grants to support your research.

Table 1: Grant Mentors

Person (Email) Unit Grant Area of Expertise/Funders
Jim Cox (jccox@gsu.edu) ExCEN/Economics Experiments
Micro theory
Hospital discharge
Organ donor
Cross-institutions
National Science Foundation
Georgia Research Alliance
National Institute of Health
Jorge Martinez (jorgemartinez@gsu.edu) ICePP/Economics International Tax Policy
Evaluation
Work in field
World Bank
U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID)
United Nations
Dave Sjoquist (sjoquist@gsu.edu) Economics/FRC State and local tax policy
Community engagement
State contracts
Ford Foundation
The Russell Sage Foundation
The Economic Development Administration of the U.S. Department of Commerce
The Fannie Mae Foundation
The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Charles Courtemanche (ccourtemanche@gsu.edu) Economics Health economics
Obesity
Insurance coverage expansion
USDA
NIH
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF)
Tim Sass (tsass@gsu.edu) Economics Education policy
Teacher Quality/School Choice
Smith-Richardson Foundation
Spencer Foundation
Department of Education
Karen Minyard (kminyard@gsu.edu)
Angie Snyder (angiesnyder@gsu.edu)
Annette Pope (apope@gsu.edu)
Georgia Health Policy Center Health policy
Community engagement
State and federal contracts
Substance Abuse and Mental Health
Services Administration
Brian Bride (bbride@gsu.edu) School of Social Work Behavior Healthcare
Primary/Secondary Traumatic Stress
Workforce Well-being
HIV/AIDS
National Institute of Health
U.S. AID
Center for Disease Control (CDC)
Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Service Administration (SAMHSA)
Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI)
Elizabeth Beck (ebeck@gsu.edu) School of Social Work Community Development
Forensic Social Work
Restorative Justice
Collective Efficacy
Department of Housing and Urban Development
Office of Community Planning and Development
United States Department of Justice (DOJ)
Fred Brooks (fbrooks2@gsu.edu) School of Social Work Poverty
Inequality
Social Movements
Affordable Housing
Community & Labor Organizing
Marguerite Casey Foundation
Ga. Department of Child Support Services
Department of Family and Children Services
Goodwill of North Ga.
Volkan Topalli (vtopalli@gsu.edu) Criminal Justice & Criminology Violence in Urban Areas
Criminal Justice Institutions
United States Department of State (DOS)
Bureau of Population, Refugees, and Migration (PRM)
National Institute of Justice (NIJ)
Richard Wright (rwright28@gsu.edu) Criminal Justice & Criminology Street Crime
American Society of Criminology (ASC)
Office of Justice Programs (OJP)
State Justice Institute (SJI)
Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA)
Bureau of International Narcotics and Law Enforcement Affairs (INL)
Harry Frank Guggenheim Grant
Fulbright Grant
Cathy Liu (cyliu@gsu.edu) Public Management and Policy Urban housing market
Urban labor market and employment
Community and economic development
Immigration and entrepreneurship
Department of Housing and Urban Development
Small Business Administration
Lincoln Institute of Land Policy
Kauffman Foundation for Entrepreneurship
Upjohn Institute for Employment Research
Ann-Margaret Esnard (aesnard@gsu.edu) Public Management and Policy Urban/Disaster Planning vulnerability assessment
GIS/spatial analysis
National Science Foundation (NSF)
Department of Homeland Security
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Agency (NOAA)
United States Geological Survey (USGS)

 

Table 2: Pre – Award Shops

Person (Email) Center Grant Area of Expertise/Funders
Lucy Gentles (mgentles@gsu.edu) Experimental Economics NSF
NIH
USAID

Shereen Bhan (sbhan@gsu.edu)

Paul Benson (paulbenson@gsu.edu)

Internat’l Center for Public Policy

USAID

World Bank

Direct Government contract outside of the US

Annette Pope (apope@gsu.edu) GHPC Health Oriented Sponsors such as:

  • CDC
  • DHHS
  • PCORI
  • CMS
  • AmeriGroup
  • Institute for Healthcare Improvement

United WayGA Depts of:

  • Public Health
  • Community Health

Behavioral Health and Developmental Disab.
Community Affairs
Human Services
DECAL
County Boards of Health
Health Systems ie Tanner, WellStar etc.
Kaiser Permanente
Pew Charitable
Trusts State of Georgia
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
ARC
Community Foundation
Experience with:

  • Training Orders
  • IDIQ
  • MOBIS

Jaiwan Harris (jmharris@gsu.edu)

 

FRC State Agencies (Georgia)

  • DOR
  • DOL
  • DHS
  • DOT
  • DOAA
  • Dept. of Finance and Investment
  • DECAL

Federal Agencies

  • DOJ

Foundations

  • Annie E. Casey Foundation
  • Community Foundation for Greater Atlanta
Elsa Gebremedhin (elsa@gsu.edu) Public Management Group State of Georgia
GRTA
SRTA
DECAL
DFCS
Dekalb County
DOA
DOAA
DOAS
DOR
DPH
PSC
Cynthia Atkins Woods (catkinswoods@gsu.edu) AYSPS Dean’s Office All as needed. Catch-safe.